Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

American Flag

Old Glory Silhouette

I was browsing through wordpress reader when I saw the weekly photo challenge. I thought I had a few silhouettes sitting around from this summer vacation, and sure enough, I found one of the most memorable ones!

This picture was taken in Geneva, New York at Seneca Lake.

I recall a wonderful time spent with family, not just on that day but all two months that I was at home.

I also recall a certain ceremony, at which I raised my hand to take the oath of citizenship. I was only a teenager and I didn’t think much of it. I actually felt all the bruhaha was a little redundant given that I was pledging allegiance to the flag every single weekday, first thing in the morning at school.

Living in the country of my birth for three years straight makes me realize exactly how important that ceremony was and exactly how awesome it is to be an American.

More on that, after two years.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

Leave a Reply

