Prelude to a sabbatical

That time of the year has come again. Where as most of my readers will be celebrating thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s, or the winter itself, I’ll be spending my time buried amid books pertaining to human diseases and the medicines we prescribe to correct them! Well, for the most part at least.

One thing is for certain: I will be taking a short leave of absence from social networking of all sorts. I wanted to leave my blog with something extraordinary before I left and as I was contemplating what my last words should be, I stumbled upon the idea of sharing with you the last words of some of my favorite people in history. After you read about their death, do remember to read about the lives they led. Inspiration is guaranteed.

1. Voltaire: “Now, now, my good man, this is no time for making enemies.” (Said to have spoken when he was asked to renounce Satan on his deathbed.)

2. Henry David Thoreau was on his deathbed when his aunt inquired:
“Have you made your peace with your God?”
“I never quarreled with my God.”
“But aren’t you concerned about the next world?”
“One world at a time.”

3. Karl Marx: “Go on, get out. Last words are for fools who haven’t said enough.”

4. Dr. Che Guevara: “I know you’ve come to kill me. Shoot, you’re only going to kill a man.”

5. Vincent Van Gogh: “La tristesse durera toujours” (“The sadness will last forever”)

6. Mozart: “The taste of death is upon my lips…I feel something, that is not of this earth.”

7. Napoleon Bonaparte: “Josephine…” (It’s what he used to call Rose, the woman he loved. She hated his guts.)

8. Winston Churchill: “I’m bored with it all.” (Slipped into a coma that lasted 9 days before he was finally declared dead.)

9. Alexander the Great: To the strongest! (When asked which one of his generals will control the Empire)

10. Groucho Marx: “Die, my dear? Why that’s the last thing I’ll do!”

4 thoughts on “Prelude to a sabbatical

  1. A sabbatical means you *are* eventually returning, yes? I sincerely hope this doesn’t result in you “eventually get(ting) bored”. 😦

    EXCELLENT choice of words. Also, the hint of dramatics is appreciated.
    You shall be sorely missed. Best wishes and prayers with our favourite Mango. Good luck. 🙂

  2. Short and sweet. Loooooved Marx’s take on the whole last words / death concept. Bye mango, we’ll all miss seeing you splattered across our TL, in all your yellow-gold glory. Best of luck for the exams and whatever else you plan to undertake and complete in your break. Take care 🙂

  3. Short and sweet. Loooooved Marx’s take on the whole last words / death concept. Bye mango, we’ll all miss seeing you splattered across our TL, in all your yellow-gold glory. Best of luck for the exams and whatever else you plan to undertake and complete in your break. Take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

