A Puzzle

Sit down. In a manner that’ll allow you to bend your knees at a right angle and let your feet lay flat against the ground. Square your shoulders against an imaginary plane running horizontally below your chin. Let your head drop until your mouth touches this plane. Cup your face in your palms. Let your fingers into your hair. Rest your elbows on your thighs, and hold your head in your hands as you would hold a small, heavy boulder from rolling off.

Close your eyes.

Breathe.

Now travel back in time.

To every mistake you ever made. Every moment of embarrassment arising from your own actions. Revisit the first memory of every regret you still carry the burden of. Let the pain and the shame drench you as if it was a dense waterfall. Let it run wild through every corner of your mind as if it was a physical place. Let it grow. Let it isolate you from everything that isn’t it! Let it form the walls to your oratory, to the sanctuary of everything that never should have happened. By the time it’s done, there should be nothing but darkness around you. Darkness and a loud silence. A silence filled with screams from your past. Howls of the ghosts of a you that once was. Ghost that demands answers, asks for another chance, begs for resurrection.

Focus on the darkness.

Wait until those overlapping screams become singular, distinguishable sounds. Listen to them as they begin to simmer down; from roars to shrieks, until they’re nothing but sobs and whispers, and eventually a not so distant memory.

Now figure out how to break free from whatever is left of this chamber of grief and remorse and regrets and disappointments.

Try this at home. Unless you’re only there for a few weeks, in which case you certainly shouldn’t trouble yourself with such obscurities.

11 thoughts on “A Puzzle

  1. Wow. That was some intense shizz mango. Loved it. Could picture every word of it. And the writing felt totally effortless. Like the words were just waiting to flow out of someplace really cryptic.

  2. I like the idea. The post is very well written. But For me, I am scared to do that ! In fact It needs peace of mind and concentration and I don’t have both ! But I like it…..I will try it someday ….I have decided ! xx

  3. I read this post a few days ago, something within me stirred, but I didn’t feel compelled to comment, Today, while going through a little bumpy patch, I was brought back here. I read this post once again, and I felt every word. I did exactly what this post commanded me to, and being moved would be an understatement. You have put exactly what I feel right now in words and I can’t thank you enough.

Leave a Reply

